ScandinaviaScandinavia is sometimes used as a synonym for Nordic countries in English, but Scandinavians themselves and other Nordic peoples clearly differentiate between the two. Scandinavia in a narrow sense includes only Denmark, Norway and Sweden. Nordic countries include five nation-states and three autonomous regions: beside the three Scandinavian countries, also Finland and Iceland, as well as Greenland and Faroe Islands (territories of Denmark) and Åland Islands (territory of Finland). Nature in Northern Europe is of outstanding beauty. It has lots of incredibly beautiful places to visit. Nordic landscape combines severity and mildness, cold colors and bright flares.

Photo: Ice blocks, Thingvellir, Iceland. Courtesy Suvodeb. Used under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic Licence.